Delaware Federal Lawmakers Support Legislation to End Breast Cancer

Lawmakers Co-Sponsor Legislation to Support the National Breast Cancer Coalition’s Deadline 2020

DOVER, DE (October 28, 2015)— The Delaware Breast Cancer Coalition (DBCC) is pleased to announce that Congressman John Carney, Senator Tom Carper, and Senator Chris Coons have declared their support as Co-Sponsors for the Accelerating the End of Breast Cancer Act (S. 746/ H.R. 1197). The Accelerating the End of Breast Cancer Act is a bipartisan bill that will focus on identifying strategies for primary prevention, stopping women and men from getting breast cancer, and understanding and preventing metastasis—the spread of cancer—which is responsible for 90% of breast cancer deaths.


The Deadline Breast Cancer Coalition supports the National Breast Cancer Coalition’s advocacy efforts to know how to end Breast Cancer by January 1, 2020. Through research, access and influence, the National Breast Cancer Coalition’s efforts are both ambitious and achievable.


“More than 750 Delawareans will be diagnosed with breast cancer this year, and thousands more across the country will lose their battle with this deadly disease,” Senator Coons said. “Innovative research has transformed breast cancer diagnosis and treatment, but breast cancer rates have continued to rise, and women today face a greater risk of contracting the disease than they did four decades ago. It’s time to scale up our efforts to combat this disease, so we can move closer to our goal of eliminating breast cancer by 2020. It is clear that ending breast cancer is beyond a political issue. It is up to the leaders of this nation to work together to support the Accelerating the End of Breast Cancer Act so we can end morbidity and mortality due to this disease.”


According to the Delaware Breast Cancer Coalition’s Executive Director Vicky Cooke, the Accelerating the End of Breast Cancer Act is one major step needed to achieve the Deadline. “I am a breast cancer survivor and I am a proud mother and grandmother. I support Deadline 2020 so my children and my grandchildren won’t have to face breast cancer and we can stop losing our loved ones to this horrific disease. I don’t want to cure it, because a cure implies you have to get it. I want to end it. And in Delaware, we are proud and grateful to have one hundred percent support from our Congressional leaders.”


To learn more about Deadline 2020 or the National Breast Cancer Coalition, visit

IMG_3228 IMG_3236 IMG_3241 015_DBCC_20150612 016_DBCC_20150612 027_DBCC_20150612

About DBCC:

The Delaware Breast Cancer Coalition is a 501(c)(3) organization offering statewide programs and services of education, outreach, and early detection and treatment of breast cancer. Its mission is to create a community where every person diagnosed with breast cancer is a survivor, and fear and doubt are replaced with knowledge and hope.

Headquartered in Wilmington with offices in Sussex and Kent Counties, DBCC’s programs reach diverse communities to deliver messages that address their unique concerns about breast cancer and early detection. Recognizing the barriers of language, culture, and economics, DBCC trains community advocates to educate and encourage women to take responsibility for breast health. DBCC helps women with low incomes and those with little or no insurance to receive free or reduced-cost care.

DBCC also supports the National Breast Cancer Coalition and their research efforts by helping to facilitate participation in local clinical trials. All funds raised for DBCC support programs in Delaware and the neighboring areas in Pennsylvania, Maryland, and New Jersey.

For more information about the Delaware Breast Cancer Coalition, call 866-312-DBCC (3222) or visit the website at



The Delaware Breast Cancer Coalition, Inc. (DBCC) is pleased to announce changes to its Board of Trustees and a transformed board structure.  DBCC’s Board has been reorganized to include a leader in each county, a Legislative Advisory Council and a Medical Advisory Council. DBCC’s Board of Trustees consists of 22 members including 3 County Association Chairs, 4 Trustees Emeritus, 5 Legislative Advisory Council members, and 8 Medical Advisory Council members.

Joining the DBCC Board of Trustees is: Cathy Hopkins Grieco, Owner at Hopkins & Sons, Inc., She is serving a three-year term that began in June 2015 and will continue until June 2018.  Cathy will also be the new president of the Great Stuff Resale Shop Board of Trustees. The New Castle County Chair will be led by Lisbeth Selsor, Director of Human Resources at Winterthur Museum; the Kent County Chair will be led by Okemah Strickland, Owner and Operator of Okemah’s Cut Above Hair Salon; and the Sussex County Chair will be led by Susan Chinnici.

The DBCC Executive Committee would like to welcome the new leadership: Patricia Key, President and CEO of Harrington Raceway and Casino, as Board President; Donna Stinson,

FACHE, Retired Administrative Director of Oncology at Bayhealth Medical Center, as Board Vice President, and Ciro Poppiti III, Esq., New Castle County Register of Wills as Treasurer and Secretary. The Legislative Advisory Council will be led by the Honorable Liane Sorenson and the Medical Advisory Council will be led by Dennis Witmer, MD, FACS.

The Delaware Breast Cancer Coalition Board of Trustees meets quarterly to provide the Delaware Breast Cancer Coalition with fiscal and operational guidance.


List of all DBCC Board Members

Officers: Patricia Key, CPA, President; Donna Stinson, FACHE, Vice President; Ciro Poppiti III, Esq., Secretary/Treasurer; Linda Powell, Immediate Past President.

Board Members: Stacey Bacchieri, Sue Bowlby; Tynetta Brown; Susan Chinnici; Michele Domenick, MD; Nancy Froome; Cathy Hopkins Grieco; Nanci Mayer-Mihalski; Mary McLaughlin, MD; Amy Norgate; Doug Phillips, CPA; Lisbeth Selsor; W. Laird Stabler III, Esq.; Matthew Stehl; Jon Strasser, MD; Okemah Strickland; Dennis R. Witmer, MD, FACS; and Joseph L. Yacyshyn

County Association Chairs: Susan Chinnici, Sussex County Chair; Lisbeth Selsor, New Castle County Chair; and Okemah Strickland, Kent County Chair

Trustee Emeritae: Marsha Barnett; John du Pont, Rena Howard; and Wilma Yu, RN, BSN, MS, CEN.


Legislative Advisory Chair: The Hon. Liane Sorenson

Legislative Advisory Council Members: The Hon. Patricia Blevins; The Hon. Catherine Cloutier; The Hon. Bethany Hall-Long; and The Hon. Margaret Rose Henry.

Medical Advisory Council Chair: Dennis Witmer, MD, FACS

Medical Advisory Council Members: Diana Dickson-Witmer, MD, FACS; Michele Domenick, MD; Clara Higgins, DO; Jacqueline Holt, MD; Joseph Rubacky, DO; Jonathan Saunders, MD; and Jon Strasser, MD.

For more information about Delaware Breast Cancer Coalition, it’s Board of Trustees, and programs, call (302) 778-1102 or visit