DBCC welcomes four new board members

The Delaware Breast Cancer Coalition (DBCC) announces the appointment of four new board members. The staff and current board of DBCC are happy to welcome new board members Ernest Baptiste, Rakesh Mehta, Ph.D., The Honorable Liane Sorenson, and Donna Stinson.
These new members are serving their first three-year term that begins in June 2012 and will continue until June 2015.  DBCC’s Board of Trustees consists of 27 members, four trustees emeritus, and seven advisory board members. 
Ernest J. Baptiste is the Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer at St. Francis Hospital in Wilmington.  He brings over 20 years experience in health care administration and finance.  He holds a Master’s Degree in Health Financial Management from New York University.  Prior to his work at St. Francis, he served as the Chief Operating Officer at Durham Regional Hospital of the Duke University Health System and also held leadership positions in two New York City hospitals.
Rakesh H. Mehta, Ph.D. is an Attorney with Potter Anderson & Corroon LLP in Wilmington.   He holds a doctorate in chemical engineering from the University of Kentucky and a law degree from the Widener University School of Law.  Dr. Mehta was a scientist at DuPont prior to his law practice. His fields of practice include chemical, pharmaceutical and mechanical arts.  He is involved in several pro bono legal activities and was recently nominated as chair of the Multicultural Judges and Lawyers Section of the Delaware State Bar Association which is active in promoting diverse attorneys in the bar.
The Honorable Liane Sorenson is the Minority Whip of the Delaware State Senate.  During her twenty year tenure in the Delaware Legislature, Senator Sorenson has sponsored legislation focused on the areas of health, genetic testing, education, domestic violence, and finance.  She was also a founding member of the Delaware Cancer Consortium, a past board member of Planned Parenthood and former Director of the Office of Women’s Affairs at the University of Delaware.  Liane was inducted into the Hall of Fame of Delaware Women in 2007.
Donna Stinson, FACHE, is the Administrative Director of Operations for the Oncology Service Line at Bayhealth Medical Center in Dover and also serves as Executive Director of the Bayhealth Cancer Institute.  Current and previous professional and volunteer activities include Healthcare Leadership Network of the Delaware Valley, The Wellness Community, Family YMCA of Burlington County, and the American Society of Radiologic Technologists.  She was a recipient of “The Varian Award”, which is given for achievement in radiation therapy.  
The Delaware Breast Cancer Coalition Board of Trustees meets quarterly to provide the Delaware Breast Cancer Coalition with fiscal and operational guidance.
Current DBCC Board Members

Officers: Linda Powell, President; Patricia Key, 1st Vice President; Stacey Bacchieri, 2nd Vice President; Nancy Froome, Treasurer; and Ciro Poppiti III, Esq., Secretary.
Board Members: Ernest Baptiste; Nancy Blumberg CPA/PFS, CFP; Susan Chinnici; Kathrina Chua, MD; Gary Custis; Clara Higgins, DO; Nanci Mayer-Mihalski; Rakesh Mehta, Ph.D.; Jeanne Mell; Jacqueline Napoletano, MD; Wendy Newell, MD, FACS; Amy Norgate; Shalini Sawhney; Lisbeth Selsor; Maureen Sierocinski; The Honorable Liane Sorenson; W. Laird Stabler III, Esq.; Donna Stinson, FACHE; Jon Strasser, MD; Okemah Strickland; Dennis Witmer, MD, FACS; and Joseph Yacyshyn.
Trustees Emeritus: Marsha Barnett; John du Pont; Rena Howard; and Wilma Yu, RN, BSN, MS, CEN.
Advisory Board Members: The Hon. Patricia Blevins; Martha S. Carper; The Hon. Catherine Cloutier; Diana Dickson-Witmer, MD, FACS; The Hon. Bethany Hall-Long; The Hon. Margaret Rose Henry; and Jonathan Saunders, MD.
For more information about Delaware Breast Cancer Coalition, its Board of Trustees, or programs, call (302) 778-1102 or visit www.debreastcancer.org.